Tags

Head in Hands

 

What a peculiar time we’re living in. Yes, it’s true: I’m currently living in my own “Camelot,” as I wrote in my previous blog-entry. But having a mentally ill man as the President of the United States casts quite the shadow on anyone’s own personal Camelot. We don’t exist independently of what’s going on in the world. And as I write this, I’m feeling pissed off and frustrated. But, vindicated too, in the wake of former FBI Director James Comey’s testimony yesterday.

I shudder at the thought that I’m getting used to this continuous turmoil in our current political climate. That I’m numbing to the deplorably low level of discourse of the president, whenever he opens his mouth on TV. That I’m shocked by almost nothing I hear him say anymore. *Of course he did that.* *Of course he said that.* *Awesome…* 

I’ve learned that I can expect insanity from an insane person. I think that’s a fair and sensible attitude to have. But it is tiresome. I live in a country where the Executive Branch of government has been destabilized––and quite suddenly. It’s unnerving to see the foundations of our democracy being rattled so on a daily basis. The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) has now declared that the United States is no longer a “full democracy,” for the first time in its history. The US is now labeled a “flawed democracy” instead. I for one don’t like how that sounds. I don’t like it at all. 

Big changes are going on, and it’s hard to imagine where all of this is going. But numb as I may have gotten, I still find myself with my face in my palm on the subway, as I receive another news-alert on my phone. *Of course that happened…but facepalm.* I’ve already watched All The President’s Men twice over the last couple of months, and yup, I watched Spotlight too. They give me hope. The concept of a “relentless pursuit for truth” gives me lots of hope. In addition to all the bullshit that us human beings are capable of, we’re capable of great things too. I’m truly grateful for how seriously journalists are taking their work these days, in a political atmosphere in which the leader of the country calls them “Enemies of the State.” The way I see it, journalists are making sure that we aren’t in the dark and powerless, and that those people that represent us in the government can’t just get away with “it.” So THANK YOU, courageous journalists, for your important work! 

For years, my blog has been a snapshot of where I’ve been at in any given moment in time, and this is where I’m at right now. I’ve followed US politics very closely the last few years (not least because I’m a newly minted US citizen), and I feel a personal responsibility to be an informed voter. I know I’m not the only one who’s exhausted at having to witness––daily––a man who is clearly not fit to hold the office of President. A man making a mess of our institutions, and viewing the rule of law as if it was merely a suggestion. I may be exhausted, but I’m awake, and I’m watching. Just as, indeed, the People are watching, Mr. President. You can gaslight all the people some of the time, you can gaslight some of the people all the time, but you can’t gaslight all the people all the time.