Tags

,

It’s been a couple of weeks since I last posted my blog, as I’ve been digesting the new world order, along with everyone else, I’m sure. I’ve written a couple of ranty, political blog-posts that I ended up not publishing, just because I didn’t feel solid about them. I’ve learned that when I don’t know what to do, I don’t do anything.

Last night I did something though. At the second installation of my Artist In Residence Concert Series at The Bowery Electric, I channeled my emotions––my fears, frustrations, hopes, and anger––into music. It is the most powerful tool and weapon available to me to fight injustice, complacency, and desperation. That much I’ve understood. Music and song is my gift and my contribution, and it’s something I hold on to particularly tightly right now. Judging by the feedback I received after the concert, I was able to connect with people in the ways I was hoping to. I received a powerful wave of gratitude, relief, and love from my audience, who were experiencing many of the same emotions that I have been experiencing. It felt like the night was cathartic to us all.

In the last few weeks I’ve gone through my own process of trying to figure out what my place is in all of this. Will I make a difference by posting something political on my page every day? If I pick a fight daily on social media with someone who is unwittingly spreading harmful fake news? If I call my representatives every day about yet another insult to the country’s, and the world’s safety by a horrific appointment in the president elect’s cabinet? If I sign dozens of petitions? I don’t know the answers, but I’m making my own personal conclusions about what feels right to me to do. I can’t be coming from a place of compulsion and fear with this if I want to be an agent for anything positive.

It’s only been a couple of weeks since the election and already I feel the world changing. But with joyous defiance I sang Woody Guthrie’s “All You Fascists Bound to Lose” last night with Elizabeth and the Catapult, and Blake Morgan, and the entire audience at The Bowery Electric joining in. The people that want to control us want to make us think we’re alone. If we feel like we’re alone, we are much easier to control. Together, we are much more powerful, and much more dangerous. We are not alone, we proved that last night in NYC. Yes, them fascists bound to lose!