IMG_4476

 

One day in early July I walked into Matt Umanov’s guitar store on Bleecker Street with a friend of mine––just to mess around a bit and to look at some instruments. I went in with no motive to buy anything as I was in no need of a new instrument. I was perfectly happy with my gold-top Les Paul which I’ve now been playing for over a year, and have really loved. But…I was in for a surprise. I was about to fall in love.

As I made a tour of the store, one particular guitar caught my eye: a Fender Jaguar. I had long been a fan of the way it looks (Kurt Cobain had played one similar to this, as did Bob Dylan), but I’d never picked one up. For shits and giggles that day, I decided to haul one into the little chamber with all the amps, convinced that this was simply a crush based on looks and nothing else. I would soon put it right back on the shelf and go home to my beloved Les Paul. But darn it, the guitar worked its magic on me immediately, and vice versa. I played my signature finger-picky riffs, and they all just clicked. Okay. This was serious. I couldn’t put it down.

“What did this mean?” I asked myself. I’d never felt this way about an instrument before. I went back to the store the very next day, and no, it was not a fluke. The magic continued to be there as my fingers touched the strings. My friend knew it too, as did the well-known guitar guru of the store, Zeke. Something special was happening, and when I went home, I knew that the call had to be made. The guitar had to be put on hold for me, and a couple of days later, I went and picked it up. It is now my Jaguar.

So, that’s the story. In a couple of weeks I’ll be getting on a plane and heading out on my first ever West Coast tour, and this is the guitar I will take with me. I still love my Les Paul, but right now the Jaguar is right for me. It is amazing what having the right one can do. It can be the difference between mastering an instrument, or just going through the motions. I know that my future will be different now that I’ve found this guitar. It’s powerful stuff, perhaps surprisingly so. I didn’t know that it makes that much of a difference, but it does. Having the right one is everything.