#Janita  #JanitaArtist

I’ve been on a bit of an unexpected hiatus from my blog recently, and it feels good to be back. So much has been going on that I’ve simply been reeling a bit! I’ve been spinning so many new plates that I think I’ve needed some time to consolidate, make sense of, and get used to these new stakes in my life. It’s exhilarating!

2015 has gotten off to a roaring start, and so far it’s already been the best year of my life. It’s been enormously gratifying to release my new album to such rave reviews, and to start to be compared to many of my favorite artists. Wow, I tell you. WOW. It’s hard to even begin to express how much that means to me. Overall I feel stronger, healthier, and happier than ever. The theme of my life right now is deep gratitude for all the wonderful people and things that are and have been coming my way. Lots of hard work and persistence has gone into all of this. That’s why it feels this rewarding.

At the moment I’m in the process of buying myself an electric guitar, which is also thrilling. In recent shows I’ve been playing my friend’s Gibson Les Paul, and I’ve come to the conclusion this is indeed the right guitar for me. My last show at Webster Hall taught me in fact, that I’m going to concentrate on playing electric guitar primarily on stage right now. Not only does it make things simpler from a logistical standpoint (I won’t have to switch from electric to acoustic between many of the songs), but it’s also where I’m at musically. The rich textures on the album seem better reflected in a live setting with two electrics on stage, and with interweaving guitar parts. Some of the hypnotic elements on the album come through best that way live. So exciting.

Shopping for an electric?? How amazing is this! I feel like a kid in a candy store!!!!!!!!!  I’ve been having so much fun researching and trying all kinds of electrics and researching the musicians that play them. In the end I’m choosing a very classic instrument. In a couple of days I’ll be receiving two gold-top Gibson Les Pauls to try out, one of which I’m hopefully choosing to be a longtime friend; possibly, a lifelong friend.

So yet another new phase in my life has begun, and in my opinion it’s very fitting that a new guitar will commemorate it. I have a strong feeling that my guitar and I will be making some serious magic together in 2015!