#Janita #Janitaartist

As I write this I’m on the NYC subway, and was just totally floored by a casual performer on the train. He was drumming a beat on his djembe drum, and singing a song I don’t know. It sounded like the kind of song that I probably wouldn’t love the original of…. and yet this large, middle-aged African American man made it sound like he was expressing some deeper truth. What a gorgeous, heartfelt, soulful voice..! It made me reflect on the fact that this kind of expression doesn’t come for free. It’s the result of having lived through some complex set of life experiences. I can relate. A random day on the subway, and a random stranger touches me this deeply. Life is so special, so precious.

So now we’re in 2015..! Wow! The world certainly looks different through these eyes today, and I easily prefer the way I see it now than the way I used to view it. There’s no amount of money anyone could pay me to go back to any other time, I’m quite happy right here, right now, thank you very much!

I’m so proud of the fact that I haven’t been fucking around these last few years. I’ve been working hard in all areas of my life, and it’s really starting to show. My album’s done and ready to be released, and I feel readier than ever to take on the challenges and pressures, as well as celebrate the triumphs and excitement that my work may hold for me. My New Year’s resolution is to stay present and open, and let myself be moved by things, and to feel — to let it all in. If this man with the drum on the 6-train is any indication, I’m off to a great start!

To allow things in is to allow things to go out too. I have a big year ahead of me, one where I will hopefully get many opportunities to perform and express my truth, and to move others too with my work. I read this quote by Zora Neale Hurston this morning in the New York Times:

“There are years that ask questions and years that answer.”

I have asked many questions in the preceding years, but already the beginning of 2015 is showing up with answers for me. I’m ready for them. And for those of you who have been asking the question, “When is the new album coming out?” You too will receive the answer soon!

I wish you, my readers, much love, abundance, health, and fulfillment in 2015! May this be a year of home-coming and answers, in addition to exciting adventure!