#Janita  #Janitaartist

I am very excited to say that the cover of my album is now finished. And it’s looking fantastic!! I was just doing a final proofread of my lyrics a couple of nights ago, checking every word while listening to my music. At times I would look at the artwork, and I became so thrilled about how it all goes together. It is clear to me that even my own understanding of this project wasn’t fully realized until now. The visual presentation is a huge piece of the puzzle, and now that that too has been put into place, I finally get it. The whole thing. It all makes total sense..!

From my musical partner, Blake Morgan, I have learned the beauty of through-composed work. Whether it comes to writing my songs, the arrangements, the production, and now the artwork, there is a deliberateness and attention to detail that he’s taught me, that I didn’t even know was possible before. I love that so much thought can go into every detail, and that every choice can be intentional. I’ve been winging it in so many areas of my life for so long, that it’s a breath of fresh air to have things click shut. I may not ever want to wing it again.

More and more I have come to admire and respect artists (and people in general) who have a clear plan and focus. I relish reading about individuals who have a wide variety of ideas, abilities and passions, yet there’s nothing chaotic about them. There is an underlying motivation for every move, every deed; it’s never haphazard. Christopher Nolan, the director of the new movie Interstellar (and many of my other favorite films) is one of those people. Here is a cool quote from an interview he did for New York Times recently: “You have to know the answer for you — but also know why, objectively speaking. If you do something unknowable, there’s no answer for the audience, because you didn’t have an answer. It becomes about ambiguity for ambiguity’s sake. There has to be a sense of reality in the film. If you don’t have rules, then what I’m doing would be formless. I feel better with consistent rules.”

Mr. Nolan is talking about film of course, but it’s relatable on a larger scale in my opinion. I agree with him, and I too feel better with consistent rules and structure. It also gives me peace of mind to know that my career and my life are moving towards a decided direction, and that all the work that I create makes sense in the context of who I am. It’s comforting to me. And I bet it’s comforting to anyone who connects with what I do. We want to know that we can trust the artists we love. I certainly do. Even when it comes to the tiniest detail. That’s when it’s most rewarding I think… When you can dive as shallowly or as deeply into the work of someone you love, and it always comes off as cohesive and true. I love that.

Trust, as a human being, is gained by being trustworthy; and the same goes for the work that we do, whether it’s in art or elsewhere. I aspire to be worthy of the trust of my listeners and followers — and naturally most of all — myself. I can’t wait to share with you, through my album, the artist and the person I have become. You can dive into it as deeply or as shallowly as you like knowing that it is all there by choice, not by chance.