IMG_0935

There is much spirituality in my life these days. I don’t mean to say religiosity, because that would be inaccurate. Instead, I have an ever keener sense of awareness of the fact that something else, not me, is in charge of what happens in life. However much I tense my body, or concentrate my mind, it is to no avail. Seriously: I’m the girl who gets on an airplane and thinks that she’s able to press the brakes with her foot upon landing–flying the plane from my seat in economy class..! But my quest for serenity has brought me here: to a place where I can finally stop pressing the brakes. My foot is not doing anything anyway. Why not just let things happen as they do, and relax. My new-found spirituality is inching me closer to that every day.

I just finished reading a beautiful book called “There Is Nothing Wrong With You,” written by Cheri Huber, a teacher of Zen awareness practice for over 30 years. I found it to be probably the easiest read of my life, and profoundly inspirational. It gave me a peaceful feeling whenever I opened it–even on a crowded F-train. I am now convinced of the transformational power of meditation; not because I’ve been told so, but because I’ve already experienced it for myself. I’ve just needed steady nudges in the direction of meditation. Cheri Huber just gave me another one.

I humbly wish that I will learn the art of meditation, starting by doing it 5-15 minutes a day. In fact, I’ve already experienced some moments of clarity and true compassion toward myself and the Star Wars-battle scene, that is my mind. I’m kind of joking…but I’m really not. I readily admit that I’m not very good at it just yet, but I’m going to keep showing up.

Today, I leave you with a short passage from the aforementioned book. It continues on much longer, but I trust you get the gist of it. With that, I wish you a serene Sunday.

STUDENT: I’ve heard you say that it’s not possible to make mistakes. I’m having some difficulty understanding this. Would you say more about it?

GUIDE: Whatever it is that I’m doing, if I pay attention to it I’m going to learn something, and I’m going to benefit. Look at your son, Evan, learning to walk. At what point should he have considered himself a failure and given up? All of the times he pitched over on his head or fell back on his bottom? Those were not successful from the definition of walking, yet they were not unsuccessful, either. They were just part of the process of learning to walk.